Need advice, marriage abroad - parents won't listen  

RSS

Notavillian94
(@notavillian94)
18/06/2019 1:28 pm  

Hi everyone,

I don't know where else to say this but I read your content and I feel much comfortable writing here then other forums.

Anyway, I got engaged to someone in Pakistan like 5 months ago but I broke it off because he was acting all sorts of bad. Because he's a family friend, may parents want me to still marry him even though I don't want to.

My whole family is against me, telling me if I don't go ahead with this that they will not speak to me, I think they'll conjure some messed plan to take me there but I think its the anxiety talking.

I have a steady job but moving out takes time, I honestly feel like they are watching me 24/7.

What shall I do?

ithinkmod
(@kuyy97)
18/06/2019 6:41 pm  

Hi there!

Firstly, I am a writer here at iTHINK and its good to know you enjoy our content!

Hmmm its normal to feel anxious in a situation like this, marrying someone obviously is a big decision and is something that takes a lot of thinking. I feel like you should take a deep breath first and think it through.

Lets look at the bright side first, you've got a steady job, thats really cool! In a world with 7 billion people, thats really something to celebrate. Proud of you!

You should spend time to think through your decision. Be honest to yourself and understand your emotions. Sit down, take a long deep breathe and weigh out your options. Know that you are in control of yourself and you should prioritise whatever you think is best for yourself. 

I feel like which ever path you choose will be difficult nonetheless, but persevere and I guarantee you good things await.