Uni troubles  

RSS

Ginger
(@ginger)
19/06/2019 5:07 pm  

Hi, I've been reading iTHINK articles for some time and could use some student advice. 

I'm a first year student (completed 1st year) who wants to change their course from a joint to a single degree. 

The issue I'm very shy and have little experience interacting with my tutor; I get incredibly anxious approaching people I don't know in general, and recently new uni related people I've met I've the last year. 

I have a two part problem due to this:

1) I'm terrified to contact my tutor (via email that is) since I don't really know him... Help, how do I formulate this?

2) My student experience last year was awful, because I was so isolated. I think this is affecting how I interact with old friends. How can I be more normal around new people and make friends without feeling so out of my depths? 

Thank you for helping me... Sorry this is so lengthy. 

ithinkmod
(@kuyy97)
20/06/2019 5:26 am  

Hi Ginger!

Congrats on finishing first year! I hope all the best for your results!

Now I am not in any way a certified psychologist but as someone who knows a bit of how it works and goes through anxiety every now and then I feel like I can give some advice.

Anxiety acts as a negative feedback loop so once you have anxious thoughts it carries on and on and eventually grows bigger. e.g. how do I contact my tutor? What does he think of me? Omg what did he thinks bout that specific time when..... and so on. My advice is once youre having thoughts is to remember that your tutor is also human and is here to help you with whatever it is you need. Take a deep breath and try to reject the negative thoughts and say to yourself "you can do this".